Agency Header

Welcome

​CURRENT EVENTS!!!

  • ANNUAL REPORT FISCAL YEAR 2013 - 2014

    Public Defender Services' Annual Report Fiscal Year 2013 - 2014, has been published. You can access the report at the following link: http://www.pds.wv.gov/Documents/2014%20Annual%20Report.pdf

  • PARALEGAL BILLING GUIDELINES

    ​Attorneys are permitted by statute to seek reimbursement for the expenses associated with the employment of a paralegal in the representation of a client. To view Paralegal Billing Guidelines click on this link: http://www.pds.wv.gov/Voucher-Processing/Documents/Paralegal%20Billing%20Guidelines.pdf.

    To view the Paralegal Salary Conversion Chart click on this link: http://www.pds.wv.gov/Voucher-Processing/Documents/Paralegal%20Salary%20Conversion%20Chart.pdf.

  • DUPLICATE ENTRIES

    If an entry looks like a duplicate entry, the agency will take it off the voucher. You need to give further explanation to let us know it is not a duplicate entry. On the first interim voucher submitted, include all fees for services rendered and reimbursement for all expenses made on behalf of the client up to and including the last date of service. If subsequent voucher(s) are submitted, do not key entries that were included or should have been included on previous vouchers; the agency will take off these entries. This causes significant delay in processing vouchers because we must retrieve previous paid vouchers and compare them line by line. You can search Voucher History in the OVS system for verification of entries. To check on any vouchers submitted prior to the OVS system, contact Voucher Processing at (304) 558-3905.

  • 2015 PUBLIC DEFENDER SERVICES CONFERENCE MATERIAL

    To view or print any of the 2015 Public Defender Services' conference material click on this link: http://www.pds.wv.gov/Criminal-Law-Research-Center/Pages/2015-PUBLIC-DEFENDER-CONFERENCE-MATERIAL.aspx.

  • TIP OF THE MONTH

    ​The governing statute authorizes PDS to pay up to two vouchers. An interim voucher can be submitted after a case has been pending for six months. A final voucher is submitted when a case is completed. If a third voucher is received with the same charges and case numbers, the payment will be refused. If you have submitted a final voucher, but additional services are required, such as an appeal, revocation, or habeas, this requires a new voucher with a new "Case Type," otherwise it will be rejected as a third voucher. Exception: Abuse and neglect and any juvenile case may be billed at any disposition.

  • PARALEGAL RATE

    The statute provides that the rate of reimbursement is the actual out of pocket expense incurred by the attorney for the paralegal's time, but cannot exceed $20 an hour. The attorney CANNOT simply bill the paralegal services at $20 an hour. PDS requires the invoice of a paralegal to set forth either the hourly wage or salary. 

"There can be no equal justice where the kind of trial a man gets depends on the amount of money he has."                                      Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956) 

The Public Defender Services funds all indigent defense for the State of West Virginia. Representation is provided by two methods: private attorneys on a court-appointed basis and full-time public defenders...read more about us

Please note while navigating our web site if you wish to return to the main page at any time, simply click on the State's Seal or Public Defender Services in the header above.

News and Announcements

Click on the Read More News and Announcements link below for more information.

The gang's all here.

 Training opportunity on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome.

Contact Us

Public Defender Services
One Players Club Drive, Suite 301
Charleston, WV 25311

Phone: (304) 558-3905
Fax: (304) 558-1098
Voucher Processing Fax: (304) 558-6612
contact us

 
Contact Us | Site Map

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2015 State of West Virginia